Top arrow pointing up

John Cary

John Cary


Professor, University of Colorado, Boulder; CEO, Tech-X Corporation

Prof. Cary received his B.A. degrees in physics and math from U.C. Irvine and his PhD. in plasma physics from U.C. Berkeley in 1979 under the supervision of Allan Kaufman. Since then, he worked at the Los Alamos National Laboratory and then the Institute of Fusion Studies at the University of Texas.  He has been on the faculty of the University of Colorado since 1984.  In 1994, he co-founded Tech X Corporation, which concentrates on computational applications for science and engineering.  Prof. Cary has worked in a wide variety of areas related to plasma physics, such as nonlinear dynamics, 3D MHD equilibria, reconnection, laser plasma acceleration, fusion plasma physics, but also in other fields, such as photonic structures, beam physics, computational algorithms, and electromagnetics of structures.  He is a fellow of the American Physics Society, a recipient of the John Dawson Prize for Numerical Simulation of Plasma (2015), a recipient of the IEEE NPSS Charles K. Birdsall Award for Contributions to Computational Nuclear and Plasma Sciences (2016), and a recipient of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Section Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award (2019). Professor Cary has chaired or served on multiple committees of the American Physical Society.  He has served as associate editor for APS/AIP journals including the Reviews of Modern Physics, on NRC committees, and on the organizing committees of various APS and IEEE conferences.  Professor Cary served as chair of the Division of Plasma Physics of the APS in 2018.

Featured Publications:

  1. Adam V. Higuera and John R. Cary. "Structure-preserving second-order integration of relativistic charged particle trajectories in electromagnetic fields." Physics of Plasmas 24.5 (2017): 052104,
  2. K. H. Pae, I. W. Choi, S. J. Hahn, J. R. Cary, and J. Lee, "Proposed hole-target for improving maximum proton energy driven by a short intense laser pulse", Phys. Plasma, 16, 073106 (2009); DOI:
  3. Nasr A.M. Hafz, Tae-Moon Jeong, Seong-Ku Lee, Il-Woo Choi, Ki-Hong Pae, Victor V. Kulagin, Jae-Hee Sung, Tae-Jun Yu, John R. Cary, Do-Kyeong Ko, and Jong-Min Lee, "Laser Acceleration of Electron Beams to the GeV-class Energies in Gas Jets," Journal of the Optical Society of Korea Vol. 13, Issue 1, pp. 8-14 (2009);
  4. C. G. R. Geddes, Cs. Toth, J. van Tilborg, E. Esarey, C. B. Schroeder, D. Bruhwiler, C. Nieter, J. Cary, and W. P. Leemans, “High-quality electron beams from a laser wakefield accelerator using plasma-channel guiding,” Nature 431, 538-541 (Sep. 2004);

  • Simulations Committee